“The Babysitter” (2017)

Hey spooks!  I’M FINALLY BACK!! Sorry for the delay; Ritual Cult was focusing on other endeavors and the blog was put on hold!  I’m officially here again.

Today, I’ve got something interesting for you!  We usually focus on cult classics or forgotten gems here, however, we’re jumping on this movie now.   We’re going to chat about the new 2017 movie, “The Babysitter.”

WE’RE CALLING IT NOW: THIS MOVIE WILL BECOME A CULT CLASSIC!!

Now this is a movie I’m not sure where to even start at!  There are no words to describe this movie and what went down.  But I’m sure as heck going to try my darndest!

The movie starts as more of a comedy, centering on a young, nerdy boy (Cole) who gets picked on at school, but has a super cool and smoking hot babysitter (Bee)!  One night he decides he doesn’t want to fall asleep because he wants to stay up and see what she gets up to at night.  Pretty quickly we see a group of random character types come in and they immediately begin playing spin the bottle.  Seems innocent enough, right?  Wrong!  Very quickly Cole realizes he’s gotten himself into a pickle when he sees Bee slit one of the guys throat and the other members of the group collect his blood for the Devil.  Low and behold, they’re all part of a secret cult!  What ensues is a hilarious monstrosity of a movie that follows Cole as he runs from each character and slowly kills everyone off in ridiculous ways.

Honestly, I completely enjoyed the movie for exactly what it was trying to be; a ridiculous horror comedy.   The characters were ridiculous, the acting was bad, the lines were cheesy, and the plot was all over the place, but it was fun to watch.  Maybe it was because I had popcorn, alcohol, and friends while watching it, but I’d definitely recommend giving it a go!  While it was ridiculously campy, it had a crazy ending that completely took me by surprise!  Remember guys, I always predict the ending — but this one I didn’t!  The sheer ridiculousness of this movie makes it a true gem that we here at Ritual Cult recommend!  So grab that bag of popcorn, turn off all the lights, and prepare to be enticed by the Devil’s promises.

And remember people, try not to be shallow because “dream girls can be a nightmare,” too.

PS: I’m still waiting to find out why Max is shirtless…

See you tomorrow lovelies!

My watchability score: Scariness 2, Surprise Twist 5, Gore 4, Suspense 2.5, Story 1.5

TOTAL = 15

The Team @
Ritual Cult

Written by: Ashley Tia Long

One thought on ““The Babysitter” (2017)

Leave a comment